Cox and James crowned Australian Snowsports Athlete of the Year

Home / Snowsports / Cox and James crowned Australian Snowsports Athlete of the Year

Cox and James crowned Australian Snowsports Athlete of the Year

Britt Cox and Scotty James have taken out the Australian Snowsports Athlete of the Year Award it was announced last night at the 2017 Ski and Snowboard Awards in Melbourne.


In a season of many record breaking achievements for Australian snowsports athletes, Cox and James won off the back of equally remarkable seasons that saw them both win World Championships and dominate the World Cup in their sports.


“You couldn’t ask for two better ambassadors for our sport. Scotty and Britt are not only at the top of their game in their respective sports but are two of the most humble and genuine athletes I have ever met. It has been a privilege to watch their journey from 15 year olds at their first Olympics in Vancouver to World Champions.” Said Michael Kennedy, CEO, Ski and Snowboard Australia.


Previously won by Olympic champions Alisa Camplin, Torah Bright and Dale Begg-Smith, the Athlete of the Year Award is the highest honour bestowed upon the athletes in the sport and is exciting accolade heading into an Olympic year.


Mogul skier Cox, 22, is Australia’s first female mogul skiing World Champion, winning the title at the Freestyle Ski and Snowboard World Championships in Spain in March this year, after claiming the World Cup series Crystal Globe for moguls with seven gold and two bronze in the season.


James, 22, is Australia’s first back to back snowboard halfpipe World Champion, current World Cup series Crystal Globe holder, Winter X Games gold medalist and Burton US Open silver medallist, trailing only to American snowboarding legend Shaun White. Unfortunately James was unable to attend the Awards due to his training schedule in the USA.  His acceptance speech is above.


Alpine skier Mitch Gourley was named Para-Snowsport Athlete of the Year for a second year in a row, after another outstanding season that saw him win the Para World Championships for giant slalom, as well as the overall World Cup title.


Aerial skier, Lydia Lassila, took out the Outstanding Achievement Award having returned from a two-season break after having her second child to claim three World Cup victories.
The Junior Athlete of the Year was awarded to snowboard cross rider Adam Lambert, 19, who won the men’s overall Europa Cup title following a brilliant debut World Cup and World Championship season this year up against the world’s best.


Also in contention for Junior Athlete of the Year was snowboard big air and slopestyle dual Junior World Champion, Tess Coady, who took out the Award for Rising Star.


“The spread of performances across so many of our Snowsport disciplines and events is unprecedented and demonstrates the breadth and depth of our programs.” Said Kennedy. “We are genuinely excited about our prospects in Korea but there is still a lot of work to do and the Winter sports are an unbelievably competitive environment.”


Over the past few months, Australian athletes have claimed two World Cup Series Crystal Globes, 35 World Cup and five World Championship medals. The closest result to this was in 2013 where Australian athletes claimed 25 World Cup medals.


With under a year to the PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games, Australia is well positioned heading into the 2018 Winter Olympics and Paralympics in PyeongChang, South Korea.


The full list of Award recipients and finalists named at the 2017 Australian Ski and Snowboard Awards are:

  • Athlete of the Year
    Winners – Britt Cox and Scotty James
    Finalists – Britt Cox, Scotty James, Matt Graham, Alex ‘Chumpy’ Pullin, Belle Brockhoff, Danielle Scott, David Morris
  • Para Athlete of the Year
    Winner – Mitch Gourley (alpine)
    Finalists – Mitch Gourley, Joany Badenhorst
  • Junior Athlete of the Year
    Winner – Adam Lambert (snowboard cross)
    Finalists – Adam Lambert, Tess Coady, Jakara Anthony
  • Rising Star – Tess Coady (Snowboard freestyle)
  • Outstanding Achievement – Lydia Lassila (Aerials)
  • Coach of the Year – Steve Desovich/Jerry Grossi (Moguls)
  • Development Coach of the Year – Jason Clauscen (Snowboard)
  • School of the Year – Snowy Mountains Grammar School and St. Catherine’s School
  • Outstanding Achievement of the Year for Small Schools – Rossbourne School.
Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Inter Thredbo 0705 278IMG_20151010_101528